The Department of Global Health (DGH) recognizes that disparities in health around the globe stem from inequity.  The Department encourages and supports the multiple identities of staff, faculty and students including, but not limited to, socioeconomic status, race, ethnicity, language, nationality, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity and expression, culture, spiritual practice, geography, mental and physical disability, and age.  The Department strives to become a local, national, and international leader in developing and maintaining increased representation and recognition of each of these dimensions of diversity among its faculty, staff, and students.

DGH has taken various steps toward promoting diversity, including creating a Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee that has been active since 2013. The Committee aims to help ensure accountability to the School of Medicine’s mission to promote diversity within healthcare, and the School of Public Health’s commitment to developing a more diverse and culturally competent faculty, staff, and student body in order to better serve communities in our region and beyond.

Our definition of diversity is broad, recognizing that there are multiple definitions of diversity.  Our Departmental definition includes traditionally underrepresented groups (e.g. based on race, ethnicity, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, age, disability, class).  Further, given our unique focus on international research and collaboration, DGH recognizes an additional focus on the diversity and inclusion of people from various countries and cultures.

Who We Are

The Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) Committee includes co-chairs and DGH student, faculty and staff committee members who apply and are selected by the committee. Current committee members are:

  • Keshet Ronen (Co-chair)
  • Susan Mello (Co-chair)
  • Ruanne Barnabas            
  • Lizette Carrasco
  • Sean Galagan
  • Anupa Gewali
  • Scott McClelland
  • Marie-Claire Gwayi-Chore           
  • Emma Earl          
  • Anya Lewin
  • Renee Heffron 
  • Carol Levin
  • Monisha Sharma
  • Jenn Slyker        
  • Holly Vargas
  • Daren Wade
  • Chloe Waters
  • Briana Williams

What We Do

The Diversity Committee objectives include work in the following areas:

  • Recruitment and retention of diverse students, staff and faculty
  • Promote UW Office of Minority Affairs and Diversity (OMA&D) recruitment tools
  • Support mentoring and scholarship
  • Pursue funding for underrepresented students
  • Promote DEI in curriculum development
  • Develop an Initiative on Race, Gender, and Sexuality (IRGS) scholarship
  • Culture and safety
  • Organize DEI trainings
  • Address campus policing practices
  • Increase DEI visibility at global conferences

Contact Us

Please contact for further information or questions.