The American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene announced Joel G. Breman, MD, DTPH, FASTMH, as its new president today at the Society’s 2019 Annual Meeting in National Harbor, Maryland. Dr. Breman is retired from the Fogarty International Center, National Institutes of Health. Julie Jacobson, Affiliate Associate Professor of Global Health MD, is President-Elect.

Berman succeeds Chandy C. John, MD, FASTMH, who is the Ryan White Professor of Pediatrics and Director of the Ryan White Center for Pediatric Infectious Disease and Global Health at Indiana University. 

The Society also welcomed four new board members: Hanna Ehrlich, PhD (Candidate), Yale School of Public Health in Connecticut; Desiree LaBeaud, MD, MS, Stanford University; Katherine Taylor, PhD, MSc, University of Notre Dame; and Jonathan K. Stiles, PhD, Morehouse School of Medicine in Atlanta. Dr. Stiles will be completing President-Elect Jacobson’s Board term of one year.

“The coming year will see a substantial infusion of energy and vision to Society leadership,” Dr. John said. “Dr. Breman is bringing an incredible amount of experience to the presidency, while Ms. Ehrlich, as the new Board member representing trainees, will provide us with a fresh perspective. Drs. Jacobson, LaBeaud, Taylor and Stiles will complement the rest of the Board with their strategic thinking and commitment to the Society’s mission. It will be a very exciting 2020.”