Photo of UW's Memorial Way
University of Washington, Memorial Way. Photo credit Dennis Wise
View image caption

By UW News Staff

Six scientists and engineers from the University of Washington have been elected to the Washington State Academy of Sciences. According to a statement released by the organization, the new members were selected for “their outstanding record of scientific achievement and willingness to work on behalf of the academy in bringing the best available science to bear on issues within the state of Washington.”

In all, UW faculty make up almost half of the 13 new members, who will be formally inducted in September during an annual meeting at the Museum of Flight in Seattle.


Joel Kaufman, Interim Dean of the School of Public Health and Professor of Environmental and Occupational Health Sciences, Epidemiology, and General Internal Medicine, is one of the six UW faculty members elected.

Read the full story